Parliament won’t “contaminate” British TV

British MPs have so far decided to keep strict rules in place regarding television advertisements, against the urging of the EU to loosen up.  Their reasoning is to preserve the artistic integrity of television shows by continuing to disallow strategic product placements .

When is the last time we heard an American politician take a stand for artistic integrity with regards to television programming and advertisements?  Indeed, I can’t think of the last time any type of artistic integrity was argued for by American government.

America and the UK may have much in common, but we have differing priorities in many areas, as this article about prescription drug adverts depicts.  It’s easy to see how consumers’ desire for drugs and doctors’ desire for profits create a bad mix.  A customer — I mean, patient — simply complains “what do I pay you for?” and the doctor writes the prescription to satisfy his customer.  Meanwhile, this doctor may say “well, I have a similar medication that works even better!” and then prescribe a drug that companies ask him to advertise and prescribe in return for a kick-back or other benefit.  Un-regulated advertising and privatized healthcare, together at last! … Surely this is the greatest nation on earth.

~ by Daniel on 14 June, 2008.

2 Responses to “Parliament won’t “contaminate” British TV”

  1. Good writing. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed my Google News Reader..

    Matt Hanson

  2. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

 
